Olympics 2012: The Arrival

After numerous delays, technical difficulties, and british ciders, I can finally say I’m in England!

Worcester, England to be exact. The University Of Worcester to be more precise. The university is our central hub where we’ll be editing all of our content. Our media team will stay in the halls for the duration of our trip. It’s a pretty sweet school. A nice place to chill and kick back.

University Of Worcester. Rumor has it that this building is haunted. Used to be a hospital.

The university is housed right in the heart of Worcester. It’s a place with a small town feel, but the sophistication of a city. It has a vibrant and varied nightlife, numerous leisure facilities, heritage attractions, beautiful parks and some great places to eat and drink. And, with the University located so close to everything, it’s easy to get around and take it all in.

But I’m going to hold off on venturing the city for now. I am exhausted beyond belief. Sleepy is an understatement. I’m a zombie right now. But I’m being told by everyone to NOT got to sleep until around 9pm London time. EASIER SAID THAN DONE.

I’m just thankful that I’m finally here. Our flights were delayed by 2 hours. Then we had a maintenance issue with our plane to London. That held us back another hour. We got into London around 5am eastern time in The States. From there we had a 2 hour drive to The University Of Worcester.

I’ve had a lot of people ask me if I’m an Olympic athlete. I assume it’s because of the US Olympic Team cap I’ve been sporting. I keep telling myself that the next time someone asks me that, I’m going to just roll with it. Tell them I’m a sprinter. See where it gets me (not far, I imagine).

As for the culture, I’m pretty comfortable here. It’s very similar to America. Honestly, I still feel like I’m IN America. Everything is written in english, there are McDonalds, Subways, and KFC restaurants everywhere, and the fashion isn’t that much off from our own. I couldn’t fully grasp I was in London until I heard british accents.

There were some small things I encountered that made me think to myself, “hmmm, that’s curious.” One of those things was the lingo. In the UK, pants are “trousers” or “briches”. If you say “pants”, british people will think you’re talking about underwear.

General etiquette can be confusing. In London everyone walks in a single file line on either one side of the street or the other. Two lines going two different directions, much like a road. I also noticed there are no unwritten rules or man codes when it comes to bathroom urinal etiquette. Striking up conversation is common. Often with the guy right next to you. That’s one that I will not be conforming to.

Question of the day: Where do I plug in my stuff? I knew electrical outlets were different in the UK, so I came prepared. Bought an adapter on Ebay. It was a bargain at only 50 cents.

Well that hot buy proved to be ineffective when I needed it most, much like the Oklahoma City Thunder in the NBA Finals (I’m still not over The Heat winning). This left me with a dead phone for hours on end. I survived. It just sucks when you really want to tweet a picture of a funny looking London Police Officer and can’t.

Tomorrow, it’s down to business. I’ve already been informed of some assignments I’ll have this week. Something involving USA Today? We’ll see. For now, I’m going to go out and enjoy what Worcester, England has to offer. Let the journey begin.

Leave a Reply

